September 16, 2019
 In 2023-Militarization of Outer Space

Country: Sudan
Delegate Name: Mallory Pearson

In 1967, the Outer Space Treaty was created to give the basic framework for international space law. It prohibits nuclear weapons in space, limits the use of the moon to only peaceful purposes, allows space to be freely explored by all, and prohibits any nation from claiming sovereignty. As of August 2023, 114 countries have signed and ratified the treaty. Although there are many countries that still need to sign or ratify the treaty, no nations have deployed any active weapons in space or have gone against the treaty. However, some nations favor using space for strategic and defensive purposes. There are already satellites in outer space used for military purposes.

Sudan is not largely focused on the militarization of outer space. Their space force is relatively small and is mostly focused on remote-sensing satellites. Although Sudan has yet to sign the Outer Space Treaty, they have established relations with countries that have; such as China, Egypt, India, Japan, and the United States of America. Additionally, they are part of the Arab Space Cooperation Group. The group aims to enhance knowledge and develop advanced space capabilities.

Sudan would look favorably upon the continuation of the development of space exploration and capabilities. Since the militarization of outer space is not of the utmost importance to Sudan, they are not focused on increasing or decreasing the guidelines for outer space.