September 16, 2019
 In 2022-Proliferation of Ballistic Missiles

Country: Russian Federation
Delegate Name: Allison Bennett

Delegate: Allison Bennett
Country: Russian Federation
Committee: DISEC
Topic: Proliferation of Ballistic Missiles

Ballistic Missiles are missiles that are initially powered by a rocket or series of rockets in stages, following an unpowered trajectory that arches upwards before descending to reach its intended target. Ballistic missiles can carry either nuclear or conventional warheads. There are four general classifications of ballistic missiles. These classifications are based on the range, maximum distance, and the four classifications are; short-range, medium-range, intermediate-range and long-range. Ballistic missile proliferation refers to rapid increase of production in ballistic missiles. Nations like the United States, China, France, India, the United Kingdom. Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, and the Russian Federation are the only known countries to have operational Intercontinental ballistic missiles (ICBMs).

In 1972, The Soviet Union and the United States signed the “Treaty on the limitation of anti-ballistic missile systems”, agreeing that each of the nations may only have two ABM deployment areas that are restricted and located so that they cannot provide a nationwide ABM defense or provide a basis for a developing one. The Soviet Union and the United States also signed the intermediate-range nuclear forces treaty in 1987. However, The Russian Federation president Valdimir Putin said that the city of Moscow will further strengthen and modernize its armed forces, including their newly tested Sarmat ICBM by the end of 2022. The Russian Federation has been revamping its air defense systems with these S-500s, which can be rapidly deployed and can intercept aircrafts, hypersonic missiles and ICBMs at long range. The Samat is likely able to bypass most radar and missile defense systems. The United States of America and the Russian Federation created a treaty between the two nations calling for Further Reduction and Limitation of Strategic Offensive Arms (START). START enhances the U.S. national security by placing limits on all Russian deployed intercontinental-range nuclear weapons. The START treaty states that both nations, United States and Russian Federation, had seven years to meet the treaty’s central limits on strategic offensive arms, which they both achieved, and the nations are obligated to maintain those limits for as long as the treaty remains in force. The Russian Federation and the United States agreed to extend the START treaty until 2026.

The Russian Federation under the guidance of President Puntin is continuing to expand its air defense system with newer, more advanced ballistic missiles. The Russian Federation is subscribed to the Hague Code of Conduct Against Ballistic Missiles Proliferation (HCOC.) The Russian Federation is also a partner in the Missile Technology Control Regime (MTCR), which is an informal political understanding among nations that seek to limit the proliferation of missiles and missile technology. The Russian Federation hopes to continue to work alongside the United States of America to strengthen the START treaty, along with other nations who are a part of similar regimes and treaties.